[Home][Pir Sahib][Recent Updates To The Site][Genealogy & Spiritual Lineage][Picture Gallery][Video Library][Jamiyat Tabligh-Ul-Islam][Islamic Resource][Audio Library][Contact][Urs Programmes]


Silsila Qadria Naushahia>Islamic Resource>Basic Teachings Of Islam>The Five Pillars Of Islam




  The Prophet (S.A.W) has said, "Islam is based upon five pillars" these being:


The Five Pillars consist of:


Shahaada: sincerely reciting the Muslim profession of faith


Namaaz (Salaat): performing ritual prayers in the proper way five times each day


Zakaat: paying an alms (or charity) tax to benefit the poor and the needy


Sawm: fasting during the month of Ramadan


Hajj: pilgrimage to Mecca






 Ash-hadhu-an Laa-ilaa-ha Ill-allahu Wah-dahu Laa Shareekalahu Wa Ash-hadu Anna Muhammadan Abduhu Wa Rasoolu


The Shahaadah has two parts.


First part:


To believe that Allah (SWT) is the only Lord and Ruler, and He (SWT) Alone is worthy of Worship. He (SWT) has No Partner, and He (SWT) cannot be compared with Anything. Everything in the Universe is under His (SWT) Control and Command.


Second part:


To believe that Muhammad (S.A.W) is the Messenger of Allah (SWT). To show the utmost respect to Him (S.A.W) and to follow His (S.A.W) teachings without any hesitation. When hearing the Blessed name of the Prophet (SAW) you should send Darood upon Him (S.A.W). 


Allah Says I will grant the one who sends the Darood :

10 Blessings, Raised his/her status 10 times and forgive 10 of their sins.


 Reciting the shahaada statement three times in front of witnesses is all that anyone needs do to become a Muslim. A Muslim is expected to recite this statement out loud, with total sincerity, fully understanding what it means.




Namaaz / Salaat


Salat is the obligatory Muslim prayers, performed five times each day by every good Muslim.


God ordered Muslims to pray at five set times of day:


fajr: dawn, before sunrise

zuhr: midday, after the sun passes its highest

'asr: the late part of the afternoon

maghrib: just after sunset

'isha: between sunset and midnight






Zakaat is the compulsory giving of a set proportion of one's wealth to charity. It is regarded as a type of worship and of self-purification.

Zakaat does not refer to charitable gifts given out of kindness or generosity, but to the systematic giving of 2.5% of one's wealth each year to benefit the poor.


 It is important to note that Zakat is paid by each person not each household.


  It is a Hadith of the Prophet (S.A.W) reported by Hazrat Abu Huraira (RA) that:

“Every morning two angels come down from the Heaven. One says, "O Allah! Reward all those who give in Your cause," while the other says, "O Allah! Uproot every miser who withholds". 

The benefits of Zakaat, apart from helping the poor, are as follows:


Obeying God


Helping a person acknowledge that everything comes from God on loan and that we do not really own anything ourselves


And since we cannot take anything with us when we die we need not cling to it


Acknowledging that whether we are rich or poor is God's choice


So we should help those he has chosen to make poor


Learning self-discipline


Freeing oneself from the love of possessions and greed


Freeing oneself from the love of money


Freeing oneself from love of oneself


Behaving honestly




Sawm / Fasting


Sawm is fasting. It's the fourth of the Five Pillars of Islam. Muslims are required to fast during Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar.


During the 29/30 days of Ramadan all adult Muslims must give up the following things during the hours of daylight:


Food or drink of any sort

Smoking, including passive smoking

Physical activity with the partner


Muslims who are physically or mentally unwell may be excused some of these, as may those who are under twelve years old, the very old, those who are pregnant, breast-feeding, menstruating, or travelling. If an adult does not fast for the reasons above they should try to make up the fast at a later date, or make a donation to the poor instead. Muslims do not only abstain from physical things during Ramadan. They are also expected to do their best to avoid evil thoughts and deeds as well.


 Allah's Messenger (S.A.W) said “When there comes the month of Ramadan, the gates of mercy are opened and the gates of Hell are locked and the devils are chained”. 


It is a Hadith of the Prophet (S.A.W) that:


“One who while fasting does not guard his tongue from telling lies and does not refrain from bad deeds, is not respecting his fast. Allah does not approve of mere abstention from food”.


There are many good reasons for this fast, including:


Obeying God


Learning self-discipline


Becoming spiritually stronger


Appreciating God's gifts to us


Sharing the sufferings of the poor and developing sympathy for them


Realising the value of charity and generosity


Giving thanks for the Holy Qur'an, which was first revealed in the month of Ramadan


Sharing fellowship with other Muslims






 It is a Hadith of the Prophet (S.A.W) that:

“Hajj wipes out whatever (sins) came before it.”


Once a year, Muslims gather together in Mecca and stand before the Kaaba praising Allah together and also visit the Holy Grave of our Prophet (SAW). It is a ritual that is designed to promote the bonds of Islamic brotherhood and sisterhood by showing that everyone is equal in the eyes of Allah. The Hajj makes Muslims feel real importance of life here on earth, and the afterlife, by stripping away all markers of social status, wealth, and pride. In the Hajj all are truly equal.


The Hajjis or pilgrims wear simple white clothes called Ihram. During the Hajj the Pilgrims perform acts of worship and they renew their sense of purpose in the world. Mecca is a place that is holy to all Muslims. It is so holy that no non-Muslim is allowed to enter.

For Muslims, the Hajj is the fifth and final pillar of Islam. It occurs in the month of Dhul Hijjah which is the twelfth month of the Islamic lunar calendar. It is the journey that every sane adult Muslim must undertake at least once in their lives if they can afford it and are physically able.

In the year 628 the Prophet Muhammed (SAW) set out on a journey with 1400 of his followers. This was the first pilgrimage in Islam, and would re-establish the religious traditions of the Prophet Ibrahim (AS).

[Home][Pir Sahib][Recent Updates To The Site][Genealogy & Spiritual Lineage][Picture Gallery][Video Library][Jamiyat Tabligh-Ul-Islam][Islamic Resource][Audio Library][Contact][Urs Programmes]

Copyright(c) 2005. All rights reserved.